The Sound of Music

The Sound of Music

Whether you are new to theater or an avid Broadway fan, this iconic musical never fails to charm its audience. The final collaboration between Rodgers & Hammerstein was destined to become the world’s most beloved musical.

When a postulant proves too high-spirited for the religious life, she is dispatched to serve as governess for the seven children of a widowed naval Captain. Her growing rapport with the youngsters, coupled with her generosity of spirit, gradually captures the heart of the stern Captain, and they marry. Upon returning from their honeymoon they discover that Austria has been invaded by the Nazis, who demand the Captain’s immediate service in their navy. The family’s narrow escape over the mountains to Switzerland on the eve of World War II provides one of the most thrilling and inspirational finales ever presented in the theater.


  • Maria Rainer: Judi Merriam
  • Sister Berthe: Ann Casey
  • Sister Margaretta: Janice Chiarella
  • Mother Abbess: Gail Osborne
  • Sister Sophia: Carolyn Williams
  • Captain Georg von Trapp: Richard J. Harte
  • Franz: Paul Kimball
  • Frau Schmidt: Judy Gordon
  • Liesl: Melissa Mason (Dance Captain)
  • Friedrich: Scott Friesen
  • Louisa: Joanna K. Naumes
  • Kurt: James J. Naumes
  • Brigitta: Tracy Malczyk
  • Marta: Ruthie Strosberg
  • Gretl: Tracy Searle
  • Rolf Gruber: Jay VanDerwerken
  • Elsa Schraeder: Gail Garrison
  • Max Detweiler: Joe Phillips
  • Herr Zeller: Dewey F. Hill
  • Baron Elberfeld: Ted Peck
  • Admiral Von Schreiber: Dan Brunelle
  • Understudies: Kerry Searle, Paul Houghtaling
  • Chorus: Laurel Ann Beverley, Jill Brumbaugh, Patricia Calkins, Linnea D’Andrea, Nancy Driscoll, Sarah Erdman, Margot Hill, Karen Kirchner, Betsy Lehmann, Judith Lott, Harold Maille, Margaret Naumes, Russell Palmer, David Perriman, Fred Polnisch, Marguerite Potochney, Marian Rosenthal, Jenny Snyder, Joan Sticher, Nancy Ellen Swann

Production Team

  • Producer: Joseph A. Agostine, Jr.
  • Director: Ted Peck
  • Music Director: Christine Patrick
  • Choreographer: Donna Cerniglia Panzl
  • Technical Director: Linda Nowosielski
  • Set Design: Maureen Zareski, Robert Nowosielski
  • Set Construction: Robert Nowosielski, Steve Cicchinelli, co-chairmen & team
  • Set Decoration: Michael Jegabbi & team
  • Stage Manager: Michael W. Jegabbi
  • Lighting Design & Execution: Jean Dowd & team
  • Sound: Chuck LaMalfa
  • Costume Mistress: Lyn Bernstein
  • Make-up: Sally Farrell
  • Properties: Elaine Fortune

View Full Playbill Here!

December 4-6, 1987